I made it! First night at Bellas…not bad.

Thanks for all of your comments, folks who read and commented.  It was great to read them as I was travelling up the highways of Nevada…In the morning I felt stronger and more empowered, I decided to go because this was indeed the plan before I left for Mexico and I just felt that I needed to give it a try.  Plus, other options seemed pretty bleak and going forward on a desolate road flanked with rocky mountains didn’t seem so bad after all.  It’s the long drives alone that gives me a sense of peace and focus.  Hours with nothing to do but think, sing, reflect and smoke pot…:)  Watching the Olympics always gives me hope to think big like they do.  41 year old silver medalist Dara Torres gave me a great quote: Be defined by your dreams, not your age.

I’m not sure about the reconstructive face surgery comment, Will, but everything else seemed like awesome support.  I think lots of us are in bad relationships some of the time.  If it isn’t battling partner stigma, its self stigma, family, community, etc.etc.etc.

The road to Wells Nevada is quite beautiful if you like mountains.  I passed through Ely, the last big town with a McDonalds and GAS STATION and did not for some reason think that there wouldn’t be another gas station for 143 MILES AND NO CELL PHONE RECEPTION.  I was praying for the whole 75 miles that the gas light in my car was illuminated.  Please, let me make it to Wells.  Cmon Scion, you can do it.  Si Se Puede.  You can get us there. What a nightmare that would have been to start my brothel experience sleeping in the desert in my car.  I wish someone would have warned me when I talked to them on the phone as I was arriving.

Driving up to the 2 brothels with their neon signs in the night was interesting.  We should challenge the rival brothel in a beanbag race and BBQ.  Good thing for me I like country music.  People greet me and are friendly but I am exhausted as all from praying that I wouldn’t run out of gas and get stranded on a lone Nevada highway with the coyotes.  The town is an old railroad town from the 1800s.  This means that my people (Chinese railroad workers) have been here before.  Probably even the ghosts of Chinese prostitutes can be found here too…I am intrigued.

It looks like any old truck stop, not bad.  I’ve worked at strip clubs that are dirtier.  Each girl gets her OWN ROOM w/ a bathroom (bathtub too).  The dungeon is pretty equipped, has a medical table and has lots of flogging and corporeal equipment which is pretty impressive.  I note that the rooms do not smell like some private rooms in strip clubs that I have worked at.

The manager is overly cheery.  She spanks me on the butt and calls me sweet cheeks.  There are lots of different girls here.  Only one other woman of color that I saw…

My room is cute, almost equal to the size of my own bedroom at home, and it isn’t loud here, except when the train rolls by.  You can hear the bell ring but it isn’t something that you couldn’t sleep through if you wanted to.  I was worried it was going to be like my college days in the dorm.  Bunk beds, shared bathroom, and bitches bitching.  quite the opposite.  I am able to have alone time, bath time where I will put my Mexican bath oil that I bought from the saint supply place to call prosperous clientele and relax after future days of hard work.

This is such an important element in creating a positive sex work incall environment.  Adequate alone time and decompression space.  I am ready to hit the sack, supposed to get up early to get my STD tests 40 minutes in town.  I have felt stronger since this afternoon.  I’ve suvived worse settings in sex work for sure.  I guess I was imagining I might become an Asian sex slave (!) or something.  Amanda mentioned that the windows open up to a courtyard with locks on them and I imagined the worse..but its not that bad here so far, people.  I am going to continue my reports on my own blog, but come on by if you are curious about how my brothel experience goes.  Please comment there too!  I only have 3 comments in total and would love some more!

9 Responses

  1. Say hello to Amanda.

  2. I hope you prosper at Bella’s, Mariko. I worked in the Nevada brothel system for about 3 years and recommend checking out these Nevada brothel websites:
    http://www.nvbrothels.net
    http://www.nevadabrotheltimes.com

    These are very active sites and a great way to learn about what’s going on in the Nevada brothel scene. These sites also have discussion boards for ladies to network with each other and clients.

  3. this is very interesting for me…a friend of mine just moved to australia and worked in a brothel there, making 3000 dollars in one weekend (she is indeed the new girl….).
    I’ve been doing some outcall freelancing in toronto, ontario canada but am potnetially intersted in legal brothel work, but am not sure about working in the us if I don’t have a permit…..you know, how strict they are about green cards and all that!
    and just working with other women in general, I find outcall pretty isolating…
    thanks for your great blog!!

  4. Well, Mariko, I hope you enjoy your days of not having to look over your shoulder worrying about the cops.

    If you think that the bell is going to annoy you, try to find some something to stuff in your ears. When you go into town tomorrow, get some ear plugs.

  5. Amanda is not here anymore. I believe she stayed for 7 out of the 10 days, which is why I worried so much. Her healthy food is here tho, thank god! and I am eating it! (thanks A, for the soy milk and goat cheese 🙂 If I come up again, or if any of you come this way have Trader Joes or Whole Foods types of needs, bring them in a cooler before you leave cuz it isn’t in Wells or Elko.

  6. A poorly timed joke, it’s true.

    I still don’t get why there isn’t a ranch for Men who have Sex with Men … just Heidi’s Stud Ranch.

  7. Nope, I couldn’t last a full working week. And I couldn’t sleep through the damn bell. Probably because it was right outside my room.

    You’re welcome for the food, Markio.

    XX

  8. Hi Mariko,

    You don’t know me, but I just left Bella’s the day before yesterday. Read my blog if you get a chance.

  9. Personally
    I think there should be some kind of regs for bothell owners as well as the girls they are treated poorly and used as tools for the owners to line there pockets giving girls the promise you will make all this money sure they make x amount but not nearly what the owners make and in all reality the girls are treated like working slaves I have been to Bella’s sure they put on the charm and dazzle it up for you to give them your money but I do have to say this the corona was cold the chilie was cooked well and the shower was hot

Leave a comment