International Aids Conference, Pre Conference for Sex Workers.

It’s the first evening and Welcome Reception for the Universal Action for the Sex Work Inclusion Pre-Conference meeting about Sex Work, which is an Official Affiliated Event of the International Aids Society. which is part of the International Aids Conference in Mexico City.

For me this is HUGE. This is my first time with the International Sex Worker Movement. About 170 Sex Workers had dinner together, and it was awesome! I’m feeling very overwhelmed, crowds of people always do that to me though. But how amazing is it for 170 International Sex Workers to come together and talk about rights for Sex Workers! I’m awed, the whole thing is paid for, free to all of us, including Hotel Rooms, Food, everything! It’s VERY awesome! Everyone has been really nice so far, and there was a whole table full of Transgendered people, and another great table or two of Men. So there is some representation from us “others” in the movement. The entire contingent of US Sex Workers is not all here yet, but we are growing in numbers.. 3 so far with more to come!

Great Energy, wonderfully well put on so far. They’ve JAM PACKED the schedule however with Breakfast starting @ 7:30 AM, and running until 8 or 9 PM! Very Long days ahead!! The last day of the conference ends in a March against Homophobia! Robyn and I are very excited as well as the Cambodian Male Sex Workers! So much more to report, but I’m sleepy sleepy, long days ahead, and I didn’t get to fully recuperate from the DA conference. I’m going to try and not work so hard this conference, just take it all in and stay quite. That’s my plan. I’m hoping after the march to go visit the Basilica Of Guadalupe. I’m not a catholic, but my best friend is enamored with the Virgin of Guadalupe, and has gotten me intrigued and interested. I wish my friend could be here to visit with me!

4 Responses

  1. Wow, sounds like a great time Tara. Wish I could be there. 😦

  2. You know, it wasn’t too long ago that inviting sex workers to a major international conference like this one, with all expenses paid, was unthinkable.

    What a major breakthrough.

  3. wanna try to get in an XBN update, kind of a live report? We can try to coordinate a show if you can get skype access at an internet cafe or a good phone card. Lemme know.
    j

  4. Serpent: It is a great time so far! I agree it’s amazing!

    Susan: Flights are not paid for, unless the AIDS 2008 conference is giving you a scholarship, but I agree it’s amazing work for the organizers of this pre-conference to have enough to give us everything else!

    Jill: As for the XXBN radio show, we have it scheduled for tomorrow night, and I’m nervous and excited!!

Leave a comment