Translation!

I’ve been working a long time towards translating the Sex Workers Outreach Project website into Spanish / español and Mandarin / 普通话 .

I barely know either language, and am using this as a great way to bone up and learn the languages. So expect it to go VERY slowly, unless I find lots of amazing help, but I finally have *SOMETHING* to show for it. I’ve got most of the spanish menu system done, and some of the mandarin system done. I’ve started translating articles and stuff to spanish, which has been interesting. So much work to do!

I’m clearly not done, not anywhere close, but I finally have the system up enough to actually translate stuff, and for us to start the process, so I ask for help. If you know, or are wanting to learn either language, then I encourage you to come help me with the process of translating our website into Mandarin or Spanish. If you want to see the site translated into other languages, you’ll have to own the process, but I definitely encourage you to contact me!

So without further ado, I’ll post here the main fruits of my labor the last few days, translating the mission statement of SWOP:

english:

Sex Workers Outreach Project-USA is a national social justice network dedicated to the fundamental human rights of sex workers and their communities, focusing on ending violence and stigma through education and advocacy.

español:

Los trabajadores del sexo de divulgación del proyecto es un nacional de la justicia social red dedicada a los derechos humanos fundamentales de los trabajadores del sexo y sus comunidades, centrándose en poner fin a la violencia y la estigmatización a través de la educación y la promoción.

普通话:

性工作者外展项目,美国是一个国家社会正义,致力于网络的基本人权,性工作者和他们的社区,重点是结束暴力和侮辱行为,通过教育和宣传工作。.

Feel free to click on the links above to get to the swop website in those languages, as embryonic as they are right now!

One Response

  1. You can do it the cheap-ass way for now by setting up mirror websites and putting it through google translation (or some other translation software). Then do a precise manual translation when you’ve got volunteers.

Leave a comment