9 Responses

  1. And what a collosal drag that the queen of celebrity attention herself–Somaly Mam who was once a victim of trafficking and now has the power to affect good—doesn’t give a shit about the impact of her campaign on women who are just trying to feed their families. This upsets me so much. How can she NOT care? I’m totally stunned (if this is true…I haven’t seen the quote). I was molested as a kid and yet I can discern the difference between consenting adults and those that are victims. I can discern between my choices and other people’s choices. I just don’t get it!!

  2. Oh but to keep on topic…um, yes, the video from SE Asia is respectful contrasted with the silly melodrama of the other. But one is a message *from* the sex workers and the other is *for* mainstream viewers safely in their homes away from the “horrors” of sex work.

  3. Parker,

    Exactly.

    Somaly could make SUCH powerful statements and perhaps really get people to not only see the light, but get off their butts and do things to help EVERYONE in sex work — victims and consenting adults alike. But she has not chosen that path. I wonder if it’s because she’s still so traumatized by what happened to her or if she’s basically following the money.

    XX

  4. My friend in Cambodia thinks she’s gotten herself in a pickle with her celebrity backers and now has to do the bidding of the funders.

  5. Ouch. If that’s true, ouch.

    I would feel REALLY used in that situation, but that’s me.

    XX

  6. Speaking of celebrity backers, where are the celebrity backers for the Cambodian sex workers who are being incarcerated and subsequently raped, beaten, and robbed in jail under policies that are “supposed” to be about stopping trafficking? Do these celebrities not care or are they just unaware, or is bad for thier PR to support sex workers’ human rights?

  7. Man, I wish I knew that. I could write to them but I imagine it wouldn’t go anywhere. I’ve written on the Somaly Mam website with no response. Anyone who questions doesn’t seem to get a response which kind of sucks.

  8. SWA,

    Right on. I’m not sure why people aren’t jumping to defend the Cambodian sex workers: hundreds of RECORDED cases of horrible abuse. Oh wait, that’s because consenting adults not only aren’t sexy, they deserve what they get.

    Again and again, I find something a little pervy in all the attention given to the idea of little girls getting raped, but such a complete lack of empathy for grown women being raped and beaten. Maybe it’s just me.

    XX

  9. Yeah, it saddens me too Amanda… I find it creepy.

Leave a Reply

