Las Vegas Attorney Seeks to Aid Brothel Workers

By way of the Sex Workers’ Virtual Community, attorney Leon Greenberg is offering to represent brothel workers on a contingency basis for unfair labor practices.  He appears to be teh real deal and here’s what he says about himself:

I am an attorney who represents employees who are not paid proper overtime wages, minimum wages, or other compensation owed by their employers. It has come to my attention that Nevada brothel sex workers are considered “independent contractors” by the brothel operators. As a matter of law I believe that to be incorrect and they clearly should be treated as employees of the brothels employed in a legal business. That would mean they would have the right to minimum wages, overtime wages, social security contributions from employers, workers compensation benefits, the right to form employee unions, and so forth. I believe numerous Nevada brothel workers may be owed substantial amounts of money because of the brothel owners’ violations of the law. I am interested in advising brothel workers of my services. I work on a collection only basis and would not charge any up front fee.  I can be reached at 702-383-6085.

4 Responses

  1. Thank you for the post. The same can be said about the conditions of many dancers.

  2. How, exactly, does this attorney get paid…?

  3. I’m not sure how he gets paid, but my guess is that he gets paid by winning the case. He would take a certain percentage of whatever the people who press the class action lawsuit win.

  4. Crysta and I met with him yesterday. Yes, he gets paid a percentage of what the suit wins. No win, no payday for him. Being a smart guy, he won’t take a case he doesn’t feel has a strong chance of winning.

    We’re still talking and deciding on things with this. That’s all I can say for now.

    XX

Leave a Reply

