Voices from Sex Workers.

I haven’t posted in a while, sometimes I’m afraid to post, sometimes I’m not sure *WHAT* to post, since this site has such a wide range, and sometimes I’m just to busy to post. But mostly, as the only transgendered woman author on this site, and not having the range of writing experiences all the other authors have, I just feel overwhelmed by their awesomeness at writing. I hope to someday be as well written as them! But sometimes my insecurities with my voice get the better of me, and here I am posting again!🙂

But I’m not posting about me, I’m posting about other people’s voices. I think one of the best parts about this blog, Bound, Not Gagged, is that we shouldn’t feel Gagged, we should be able to share our voice, and talk about the things we need to say. So let’s share some voices!

This is the best fucking job I ever had.

Why can’t we as a society have a rational, meaningful discourse about sex work, embracing all its nuances and contradictions?


These are some of my favorite quotes from Ester’s article on alternet, titled “My Life As a ‘Craigslist Hooker’: Why We Need Smart Policy About Sex Work”.

Also, Alexa has started a new site called “My first professional Sex”, where she’s attempting to share stories from many different Sex Workers, from all walks of life. You can read my story on her site here. I think the site can be summed up by her very words:

Sex workers are human beings, just like everyone else. The stigma associated with their line of work can often be quite dehumanizing. And, sadly, there are a lot of misconceptions about what brings people to sex work. I hope to show that there are a wide variety of reasons people get into sex work – reasons that are unique to each individual, reasons that are just as valid as the reasons anyone gets into any other line of work.


These are but 2 recent examples of Sex Workers taking to heart, we are Bound, Not Gagged. Thanks for speaking up, speaking out, and sharing your stories.

3 Responses

  1. Hear hear!

    And I hear your “feel overwhelmed by their awesomeness at writing.” Im regularly daunted, intimidated even, by the extraordinary talents of many of our loudest (or most compelling) voices. Alexa definitely being one of them. I try not to let it get to me believing we all have our own style of contributing to “the fight” and every bit counts.

    Good post x

  2. MsSmunro: Yes, I agree that we all have our own ways of standing up for Sex Worker’s Rights. Thank you for doing your part!

  3. I would like to know if anyone would like to submit an interview online or through e-mail regarding their personal experiences for my class assignment to decriminalize prostitution in ny?

    Any info or input would be appreciated!

    Ester

Leave a Reply

