“Happy?”

Okay, so I wasn’t going to say anything other than what I’d said in comments on the “If we’re happy” post, but you know…I feel I have to.  Why?  I get tired of the assertion we don’t care about (insert person or groups of people X here.)

And perhaps it’s true, maybe not every case or issue is discussed here on B’n’G…but I’m not so sure every issue has to be, after all, we have other things going on in life, and frankly…all bad news all the time is soul crushing…and it doesn’t mean a whole lot of issues for all sex workers, even the not happy ones, are not discussed by those who write here elsewhere. 

In fact, if you want an insane amout of sex worker news, please, do take a gander here.

I know for a fact Jill has blogged her behind off about a whole lot of sex worker issues, and not just those facing ‘high class’ workers either. 

I know I’ve made just a few posts about all kinds of bullshit

I think many of us have, here and elsewhere.  But sometimes, we need to…breathe. 

Palfrey’s death is no more or less tragic than any sex workers, but seeing such a firey, tough lady like that go out the way she did?  I think it stunned us all…a lot.

And I think it is unfair to say we only care about “happy hookers” and only write about them. 

My 2 cents.

4 Responses

  1. Palfrey’s death triggered an insane amount of sex-negative press that just made me sick to read. My heart goes out to her friends and family.

  2. Happiness is a state of mind..one we try to achieve daily but is fleeting & evasive, we battle constantly with our archetypical demons in order to better understand ourselves.
    Am I happy? On average I would say yes, I`m very happy. Happy with the choices I have made, whether that is sex work, writing or just having that lovely steaming cup of coffee I want. If I`m not happy..I ask myself why & try to work through it. Self awareness is important..it gets us out of shit & helps us appreciate the everyday.
    Soprry this message does`nt link up maybe to what others have been saying about sexwork/workers directly or the comments about who`s doing what or not as the case maybe. Pity for oneself or others in the situation you/they are in does not help. Action does. If someone is not happy with the way others are doing things then in my book, don`t moan, do something about it! Critism is good if it goes with balance & consideration…then with action. So it does`nt matter what anon says ( & I agree with some of his/her points)….his/her moans have out stripped any valid points due to both quantity & lack of personal action.

  3. Ren,

    As always — targeted, focused, pointed, real.

    XX

  4. I’m in an eternal state of happiness to be able to stand up for my rights and stand by the side of my brothers and sisters to fight for theirs.
    I’m ecstatic that I get to go out and collect signatures today.
    I’m thrilled that I’ve received criticism for the language I used in the petition because it means that someone actually read it!
    I’m not deterred by rejection.
    I go to sleep at night knowing that I’ve done the right thing today and can’t wait to wake up and do the right thing tomorrow!

Leave a Reply

