Just a few pics from IHRA

I was able to round up pics from a few different cameras. I know penny has more pics and video and I expect that there will be a more in-depth report about IHRA in the future. I just wanted to post a few pics and let you all know that the sex workers totaly kicked ass in Barcelona! Our booth was the most colorful and popular of them all! Our materials, posters, reports and other goodies sold like crazy. People loved that we were there to talk about sex workers’ health and rights. More of us have to be there next year!

Sex workers had two panels during the conference

SW Rights booth at 19th annual International Harm Reduction Conference in Barcelona May, 2008

Harm Reduction Principle #723: Coffee is a Legal stimulant!

3 Responses

  1. love the pics!!! more! more!

  2. I will totally update this post when i have time and access to the other pics!

  3. Love the pictures, that booth was off the hook and I had so much fun. Thanks to Stacey for hooking up all the hot affordable housing and thanks to Penny for getting us that booth. I am really looking forward to Mexico City. Kitty, hook up the video.

    FYI-coming back into SF through customs I had some problems. I was flagged for somereason, maybe it was that I had been in Barcelona, maybe it was my criminal record, maybe it was that I was registered as a legal brothel worker, I don’t know but when the first guy saw my “history” that was generated by my passport he wrote something on my paperwork that landed me at a very tight screening of all my bags and then they focused in on my work, since they asked me where I worked, where I went to school, etc, and really freaked out about my work at the Infirmary. The guy was tripping, he was very upset that I was working with sex workers. Questions like, “Why would you work with that population.” and “I don’t understant what this is about, you said [3 times I told him what we do] that you offered medical services so what are these questions about?” (I had to produce a card to prove where I worked and it just triggered all kinds of shit). Then he asked me about my record, at this point I was getting irritated and being really smart with him.
    “Have you ever been arrested?”
    “Not lately.”
    “Not lately!? What have you been arrested for?”
    “Guns, prostitution and Heroin. How do you like me now?”

    Then I said, “Where are you from?”
    He said, “From here.”
    “Not from SF, maybe from Freemont or some shit cause you really need to read up on your San Francisco hooker politics.”

    He grabbed a bar of soap and said, “WHAT IS THIS??”
    “Um, a bar of soap”

    So anyway, next time I come into SF I am going to be a rude fucking cunt if they start that shit with me and will make sure I got nothing on me cause this time I had needles from the conference, which he did not find.

    Naomi

Leave a Reply

