Bound, Not Gagged Swag On Its Way

We’re printing up some stickers and buttons for Sex 2.0. It seemed so perfectly in the spirit of BNG to ask everyone here, What do you want on your sex worker swag?

To get you started, here’s the slogans Stacey and I have kicking around:

“Listen to Sex Workers” (we’re definitely doing this one)
“My Pussy Paid for This”/”My Ass Paid for This” (on a sticker for your laptop, of course)
“Sex Workers: Making the Media So the Media Doesn’t Make Us” (props to Red Light District Chicago!)
“We Are Bound, Not Gagged”

We’re putting the order in on Wednesday afternoon, so get your suggestions in the comments while they’re still hot.

6 Responses

  1. It’s just an opinion, but I really dislike this one: “My Pussy Paid for This”

    To me, a big part about educating others about sex work is explaining that it’s not “selling your body”, that it’s multi-dimensional and requires intelligence and savvy. In this spirit, I’d mush prefer to see something along the lines of:
    “Both My Pussy AND My Brain Paid for This”

  2. Is this too corny/stupid?

    Sex + Work = Sex Work

    It’s just something that came to mind because so many people refuse to admit that sex work *is* actual work.

  3. Well of course I love number 3, but I’m biased! Thanks for suggesting it, though.

  4. Here are some stickers we’ve had for the last four Sex Worker Arts Festivals in Tucson:

    Be Nice to Sex Workers (alltime favorite, credit Carol Leigh I think)

    Happiness is $300 20 Minute Call

    Sex Work is Labor

    Stop the Wars against Whores (stickernation.com was actually selling this one for awhile)

    Support Your Local Whore

    Sex Work is Feminism

    Stop Violence Against Sex Workers – Decriminalize

    Violence Against Sex Workers is Terrorism

    Sluts Unite (also, Sluts Untied)

    I Fuck For Fun & Profit

    Stop Illegal Police Activity Against Sex Workers
    You Can’t Keep Me Down (I Charge for Going Down)

    Official Sex Worker Art Festival motto: SEX, WORK, ART, POWER

    We also one that said “how can you bust me when your dick’s in your hand?” which was in direct response to a local sex worker getting busted while the cop was masturbating himself. Sorta regional but still a local Tucson vintage favorite. Oh man, there’s a ton more but there all on my old computer:)

  5. Thais-

    I understand and mostly agree with your point. I think so much of the stigma against sex work as labor is because of the specific areas of the body used to do that labor. Although obviously not all sex workers have sex, the stigma both within the industry and outside of it is largely directed at those who have sex.

    Sex 2.0 is a specific space where such in your face statements will be well-received and it’s an opportunity for some pro-pride among people who will take the message for what it is. Having to be completely PC is draining for many workers who are proud about their work and the rewards of doing it.

    And, for what it’s worth, I think a lap top with a sticker that says “My pussy paid for this” is indicative of a woman who’s using her brain😉

  6. W.H.O.R.E. -We Honor Our Respectable Employment

    or………..

    W.H.O.R.E. -We Honor Ourselves with Respect and Empowerment

Leave a Reply

