BBC: The men who sleep with prostitutes

Awww, ‘Punters!’ I think we should adopt that term here in the US.

A few snippets from Finlo Rohrer’s article in BBC News Magazine:

Fantasy

“She doesn’t know. I don’t believe it’s changed my relationship with her in any way. To some extent I feel closer to her.

“I don’t have to demand things that maybe I was demanding from her, like oral sex and things like that. She didn’t like doing that. Now I no longer have to ask.”

Forming friendships

“It is a mixture of the convenience and the time aspect. I work very, very long hours.”

He recognises there is a stigma, but it is one he utterly rejects.

“Some of my friends are fully aware that I visit prostitutes. Many of them do themselves. There is this fear that it is in some way abusive. I would disagree with the idea that nobody chooses to do it for a living.”

Patrick views it as a totally mundane transaction between adults.

Silhouette of man's head
They seem to enjoy my company, several have moved onto more of a friendship aspect
Mark

“I see us as adults. I want to pay and someone wants to sell. As long as I’m not hurting them in any way what harm am I doing. I’m distributing my wealth to people who don’t have it.”

Patrick, Mark and Pete say they have never encountered a trafficked woman and that conversations with prostitutes lead them to believe it is rare.

“The perception is that everybody is trafficked,” says Mark. “The figures bandied around for the numbers of trafficked women are absurd.”

Mark’s position is clear. If he did meet a woman he suspected was trafficked he would do something about it, there and then.

Our friends in the UK are experiencing the same hostility that has produced terrible ‘End Demand’ policies here in the US and in Sweden. They need our support. Go leave some comments at the end of the article if you have a moment! We’ll post related info here at the site.

2 Responses

  1. Dear all

    I am very pleased to inform you that Lord Hunt of Kings Heath announced this
    afternoon that the Government had decided to withdraw the three clauses in the
    Criminal Justice and Immigration Bill relating to prostitution. This is a
    significant victory, and gives us all the opportunity to prepare for the
    introduction of a new bill in the next session of Parliament which I hope all
    of us will find more acceptable than the ill-considered proposals in this one.
    Thanks to all of you for your helpful briefing and skilful lobbying. I am
    sending this message to everyone who has taken the trouble to write to me.

    Best regards
    Richard Faulkner.
    ____________________________
    Lord Faulkner of Worcester
    House of Lords
    London SW1A 0PW
    Tel: +44 207 219 8503
    Fax:+44 207 219 1460
    Mobile +44 7785 261785
    Email: faulknerro@parliament.uk
    Website: http://www.lordfaulkner.net

  2. It ain’t over yet…….

Leave a Reply

