SAVE THE DATE: The 2008 Sex Worker Convergence is hitting Chi-Town!

On July 16-20 of 2008, hundreds of sex workers and sex worker activists will converge on Chicago at the Desiree Alliance Conference:

“Pulling Back the Sheets: Sex, Work, and Social Justice”

The Desiree Alliance is a diverse, volunteer-based, sex worker-led network of organizations, communities and individuals across the US working in harm reduction, direct services, political advocacy and health services for sex workers. They provide leadership development and create space for sex workers and supporters to come together to advocate for human, labor and civil rights for all workers in the sex industry.

The time is NOW to get active in the movement, so go to the Desiree Alliance site and click on the link to join the yahoo group!

You will receive a monthly update or two as Desiree Alliance starts to collect “calls for presentations” (got something to say?), registration for the conference, and general updates about the national movement of sex workers and the 2008 Desiree Alliance Conference.

Thinking about sharing an abstract, workshop, or training at the 2008 conference? Got something to share with other sex workers? Wanna learn new skills in both sex work and sex work activism? Just want to hang out with hundreds of radical hookers? Join the Group!

9 Responses

  1. Oh wow… awesome!

    I would love to be able to come to this. I don’ tknow if I’ll be able to afford a trip to Chicago at that time, but I’ll keep my fingers crossed and join the Yahoo group in the meantime.

  2. Ah… the City of Broad Shoulders. Do you think the midwest is ready for us?

    I’m so excited!!! I’ve been downloading songs that mention or are about Chicago, my second favorite US city 😉

    Amber: info about ride- and house-sharing is coming soon! We want you there! Also- let me know if I can assist in the venue search for Sex 2.0, I’ve been so looking forward to attending!!! Plus, I’m hoping that I’ll get to see you demonstrate some of those pole-dancing moves live in the flesh 😉

  3. This is awesome, how do I send an abstract for a presentation?

  4. Well depending on where we end up relocating Sex 2.0, our venue might have a pole!

    Thanks for the offer to help btw. Are you on the Google group?

    I will stop co-opting BNG for conversation about Sex 2.0 now. And I will reiterate: I really hope I can come to the conference in Chicago!

  5. We need to set up the process for submissions (ie: make sure somebody can receive and compile them!) All the info will be sent out over the DesireeAlliance yahoo group and posted here at the blog of course!!!

    Amber: I’m on the list but I haven’t checked that mailbox in a while- I’ll get on it!

  6. Like to go to Chicago for this event.

  7. […] Alliance Conference Save the Date SAVE THE DATE: The 2008 Sex Worker Convergence is hitting Chi-Town! Posted on January 24, 2008 by Melissa Gira On July 16-20 of 2008, hundreds of sex workers and sex […]

  8. Oh yes, I will do whatever I can to be there. Heh, look for the short, sneering chick.

  9. I’ll wear my “Strippers Are Feminists Too” shirt!

Leave a comment