Where do we go from here regarding Judge Deni?

What steps can we still continue to take regarding Judge Deni and this case?  She won her re-election we can’t change that.  There was international interest regarding this case.  I saw that Pravda and a Scottish News outlet had picked this up.  I also saw someone post about international efforts including Amnesty International or doing an Amnesty International type letter writing protest.

Beatriz Mercado from Chile who works with SWOP East has suggested drawing a letter regarding this case and presenting it to organizations in Chile, in English and Spanish, to bring attention to this case on an international level.  I think this is something we should take a look at and work on going forward with both regarding this case and sex worker rights.

I”m not literate enough on court proceedings to know.  Is it possible to get copies of court transcripts?  Are they public record?  That would certainly clear up any contentions about what was or was not stated.

What can we do to go forward?

5 Responses

  1. The court transcripts are not public record. That doesn’t mean it’s not possible to get them but technically, there are supposed to be protected documents. Remember that they will also include some very private personal information about the woman who was attacked and therefore it would be rather dangerous if these were easy to obtain for the general public.

    We are in no way letting this die here in Philadelphia. I would urge you to please think about writing to the court as I noted in an earlier post. There are also two meetings coming up, one internal meeting and one at a much larger women’s organization. I don’t want to put the information out publicly as I’m being stalked at the moment but please shoot me an email. I would love to discuss some action steps for better utilizing the global interest and support we’ve seen over the issue.

    I would be happy as well to draft a letter about the case that can be presented to other organizations so I’d love to discuss that as well.

  2. My suggestion over on Renegade Evolution’s website was to go for more immediate, local impact. To go for INCITE extralegal community shaming & prevention-type actions.

    I’m glad Pravda’s covering it, but this case has come up in France and made it into the American press w/o changing the American legal system, so I doubt more international press is going to change any legal systems.

  3. Which Scottish news outlet did it make it into? I’m excited to hear that since that’s where I am. I did a quick UK google news search but I only found it in the Guardian (which is still pretty good going).

  4. Here’s the reply I got from Amnesty International about this issue:

    Thank you for your email.

    This is not a case that we are working on in the UK section, a brief look at AI America’s (www.amnestyusa.org) website shows that they are not involved in this particular case either.

    I have however passed your email on to our Stop Violence Against Women campaigner as this case is sadly endemic of the police and judiciaries attitude towards rape victims in the US and here in the UK also.

    To find out more about our work to Stop Violence Against Women please see the website: http://www.amnesty.org.uk/svaw

    Many thanks for bringing this to our attention, and thank you for your support.

    A little bit disappointing, but it looks like they will be aware of this type of thing in future.

  5. I just wanted to let everyone know that the case went back to court yesterday. Her case has now been combined with the other woman who experienced an identical attack a few days after she did. The hearing ended up getting postponed until Nov. 27th. The DA and the rape advocate feel that it’s going to be a very long haul in court. Neither, however, anticipate that they will face the kind of discrimination from another judge that they did from Deni.

    I have had some questions from folks on how to get support letters to the woman from the initial case. I spoke with the lawyer and advocate today and I’m told that both women would really appreciate them. In fact, it sounds as if they are getting quite frustrated so such support would probably be very welcome right now. If anyone wants me to pass along anything, please feel free to email me.

Leave a Reply

