From Kathy Hogan’s blog. Speaks for itself

It seems Kathy Hogan doesn’t feel there is local interest in the Judge Deni case and started a new blog.  Which is certainly her right.  However, one could also speculate as to her motivation of not wanting local residents there to hear anymore of the “angry posts about the philly election” as Kathy describes.   She has offered no evidence to back up her claims about her friend Judge Deni being the victim of a conspiracy.  The media and bar association seem to have been able to find evidence.  Now Ms. Kathy feels there is no local interest and wants apparently to move on without the topic of her friend Judge Deni distracting her local residents.  Makes sense, you wouldn’t want something as disruptive as the truth ruminating in Philly’s back yard when you are trying to convince the world through dozens of repetitive posts to forget the whole thing.   Come on Kathy, you’re an attorney.  You can do better than spam, bot posts and cover up to defend your friend.   Do you have anything to support your claims other than your word and now apparently an effort to sideline the truth in your local neighborhood? 

That dog won’t hunt. 

 Kathy Hogan quote from her blog begins below

November, Veterans, Thanksgiving

For November, as we approach the holidays, what’s on your mind?

I started a new blog because the last one was getting bombarded with angry posts from out of the area about a dispute over the election in Philly on Tuesday. Feel free to follow Philly elections all you want, but I don’t think there is local interest in it, and I don’t think it belongs here. — KH

posted by Kathy Hogan at 1:24 PM 0 comments

19 Responses

  1. OK, now your accusations are getting a little nutty.

    First, I did NOT “Start a new blog”!

    The supposedly sneaky blog you are referring to is one I have had for several years, where I volunteer my time to post community items of local interest for the residents in my small town in South Jersey.

    We post things about sidewalks and potholes, fundraisers for the scouts, senior citizen BINGO, and other small town fare.

    As wrapped up and intense (and a tad paranoid) as you and others are about this issue, it is not appropriate for the town blog.

    I am not hiding, I am not afraid of anyone, I’m not controlled by anyone, and I wrote what I wrote because I think it is the truth, you know, 1st amendment and all that, I’m sure you’ve heard of it.

    Geeze, Louise.

    The list of names I’ve been called by you and others, it’s really ridiculous, and it is, ironically, exactly the kind of “pile on” mentality that feeds on itself and gets out of control that I speaking up against, in the matter of Judge Deni.

    You slam me in your post for writing the same thing on several blogs. So what? What’s up with that?

    Do I have to individually compose a separate comment to every blog, in order to suit you?

    Responding with the same or similar comments to different blogs on the same subject is not “spam” or “bot,” where do you come off accusing me of that?

    For women who proport to care about other women (ain’t I a woman?), you’re showing me a great deal of undeserved and mean spirited nastiness and disrespect.

    I don’t think it’s necessary to attack me for expressing an honest opinion that differs from yours.

    You spoke up on this issue in Philly because you heard something that you thought was unjust and you wanted to voice your opinion about it.

    Have I said one word criticizing you for doing that? (The answer is “No, I haven’t).

    People ought to be allowed to voice their opinion on a matter without others getting all medieval on their ___.

    Anyway, when did I become the issue?

    There are a number of people zooming around ithe Internet, posting as many trashing attacks as possible about Judge Deni. That seemed like a pile on to me, and it seemed unfair.

    Let’s say, for the sake of argument, maybe they’re right, maybe they’re wrong in these attacks.

    Fine, then someone dares to raise another point of view, one that is not in lock step with everyone else in the “pile on,” and suddenly, what? she becomes fair game for attack too?

    Come on, now, that’s not right.

    One of the more virulent of the attackers boasted on a recent post that she had posted her attacks about Judge Deni on 50 blogs.

    I supopose you think that’s fine, but if I respond on some of those same blogs, I’m somehow a spammer or a “bot” right?

    I know this is too long, but I want to make another point:

    All of my life, I have stood up on the side of the person who is being picked on, bullied, outnumbered in an unfair fight.

    I felt that the attacks on Judge Deni were way over the top, and not particularly well informed, and yes, it was right before an election, and yes, I think that did factor into it.

    By the way, Judge Deni has absolutely nothing to do with my posts. I haven’t discussed them with her, and as far as I know, she may not even be aware of any of it, I really don’t know how much time she has to be on the Internet.

    I think if you re-read your post above, maybe you’ll notice just how snotty and accusatory you are in it.

    It’s really not necessary.

  2. Hahahahaha! You mean to tell me our bot-bat Kathy Hogan, the attorney, is now complaining about people “piling on” her? This is too hilarious. Seriously, what law school does this person come from? Okay, now that I’ve gotten my laughs, I guess I’ll go ahead and respond to the bot-bat herself.

  3. Kathy,

    If you don’t think it’s appropriate for you to speak about something on your own blog, then why is it appropriate to speak about it on ours? You felt free to blog-hop around the internets putting your copypasta on OUR blogs but when it comes to YOUR blog, suddenly the subject isn’t all that important to you.

    And please tell me you aren’t seriously complaining because people have called you names. Wake up! You’re an attorney, for goodness sake! I’d think you’d be aware of the fact that the no one has a responsibility to whisper sweet, encouraging words every time they want to say something to or about you.

    When you come on people’s blogs and you post a message that has zip to do with what the person actually said, then you’re spamming. When you’re spamming multiple blogs with the exact same illogical message, then you’re acting like a bot.

    Your complaints about being spoken to with a “great deal of undeserved and mean spirited nastiness and disrespect” ring pretty hollow given the fact that your copypasta does the exact same thing to the woman who Carr Deni allowed Gindraw to get away with raping. You want respect? Try showing some for the woman who has now been twice victimized–once by Gindraw and once by Carr Deni.

    This is the internet, Hogan! Anyone can be addressed. Everyone is fair game. You criticized what others have to say about Carr Deni. We criticized what you had to say about Carr Deni. It sounds pretty fair to me.

    And can you quit with the “attack” nonsense? Carr Deni hasn’t been attacked. An attack is when a guy holds a gun to your head and rapes you and then calls his buddies over so that they can rape you too. Get it? Someone has been attacked here but it ain’t you or Carr Deni. If you really cared about being on the side of the underdog, you’d be speaking out in favor of justice for this woman who was unfortunate enough to have to come before your asshole friend, the judge.

  4. Well, I see that my request for respectful discourse has fallen on deaf ears.

    Now you want to mock me for that too.

    More name calling, more accusations, more distortions of the truth.

    I see no point in trying to communicate with you further.

    Of course I care about justice, I’ve devoted my entire life to it.

    It is something everyone deserves.

    Everyone.

    Now you can make fun of me and call me more names, if you like.

    I’m done here.

  5. Bint,

    Thank you for defining “attack.” Very well done.

    XX

  6. Responding with the same or similar comments to different blogs on the same subject is not “spam”>>

    excuse me, that is EXACTLY what spam is. Or more specifically, what you (?) did, i.e. cutnpaste what looks very much like canned P.R. and post it in a drive-by to EVERY blog you can find that so much as mentions the damn case, without sticking around to engage people: spam, spam, SPAM.

  7. as for not being a ‘bot: okay then, I’ll take your word for it. just, dude, you -really- *sound* like a ‘bot. Just sayin’. Might be something to ponder.

  8. “And can you quit with the “attack” nonsense? Carr Deni hasn’t been attacked. An attack is when a guy holds a gun to your head and rapes you and then calls his buddies over so that they can rape you too. Get it?”

    Apparently not. Really difficult concept, that; perhaps they didn’t teach that one at law school; or maybe she missed that class.

  9. First, I did NOT “Start a new blog”!

    That’s actually a direct quote from your blog.

    For women who proport to care about other women (ain’t I a woman?), you’re showing me a great deal of undeserved and mean spirited nastiness and disrespect.

    First–and this is admittedly petty–“proport” is not a word. I don’t know why I’m picking this one out of all the misspellings and grammar issues with your posts, but this one really irks me. You either mean “purport”–to falsely profess to be something, or “propound”–to put forward an idea.

    Secondly, and far more importantly, how dare you come here defending a someone who not only bulldozed over the human rights of a woman who had just suffered a violent rape but who then had the unmitigated gall to make glib statements to the press about how it didn’t count as a “real” rape and that she was going to sleep well over her decision. How dare you come here and post as if you are the woman being attacked. Shame on you.

    You do understand that Deni did not dispute that the four men held a gun to the victim’s head and had sex with her against her will, don’t you? Deni didn’t call any of that into question. Her issue was with the fact that the young woman had initially consented to sex with one of the men for money. Her ruling basically boils down to the notion that sex workers can’t withdraw consent. And what does that boil down to? The notion that sex workers get what’s coming to them.

  10. Um.

    >First, I did NOT “Start a new blog”!

    >I started a new blog because the last one was getting bombarded with angry posts from out of the area about a dispute over the election in Philly on Tuesday.

    …’k. Someone’s a bit confused. It -might- be me.

  11. >For women who proport to care about other women (ain’t I a woman?),

    oh no you did NOT just go there!

    um, Kathy? You do know the context for that quote, right? You do know how incredibly ironic it is to be using it in THIS context, considering who the victim is and who your friend is, demographically speaking, right? Right?…

  12. Thinking about it Judge Deni and my pimp that beat the shit out of me regularly apparently shared ideology.

    My pimp never felt I was raped by clients either. He saw it as theft of services too. Worse that more than one man was involved in mine too. Had I done things the way he taught me I would have made a lot more money charging each of them but instead I let pain, fear, restraints and force stand in my way of collecting for services rendered.

    When he found out this happened and beat the shit out of me among other things, that wasn’t assault, rape, or anything bad. Just escalation of the progressive discipline policy that I’m sure he had.

    Why do we need sex worker rights??? I can’t imagine………..

    If I knew where the pimp was I could put him and Judge Deni in touch so she wouldn’t feel so alone and would have an ally with experience in understanding her side of the story.

  13. I’d like to recommend a “yes” vote for the retention of bint.

  14. It’s surely a good thing that Carr Deni has someone to protect her from all those mean internet women who critiziced her legal decision. Who knows how traumatizing that can be compared to the black woman who was told that being gang raped was just “theft of services” and that as a prostitute she can’t withdraw consent.

    Did Carr Deni make that decision because the woman was black, poor, a prostitute, a single mother? Why did she make such a misogynistic, probably racist, decision? Why did she say that this

    “minimizes true rape cases and demeans women who are really raped.”

    when the woman in question was really raped, and this was a true rape case?

    Why do you defend that?

  15. Bint’s one of my bloggin’ heroines.

  16. The list of names I’ve been called by you and others, it’s really ridiculous, and it is, ironically, exactly the kind of “pile on” mentality that feeds on itself and gets out of control that

    How dare you.

    You don’t know who you’re talking to, you don’t know what we’ve had to deal with. Some of the women here have been raped and know what it’s like to be piled on by men who think “no” doesn’t mean anything, and you’re complaining because women on the internet are saying mean things about a woman who callously dismissed a real rape case? And seriously, internet dogpiling? Call out the National Guard.

    How dare you!

  17. Yeah,

    the “ain’t I a woman” part made me hyperventilate so bad that I just had to avert my eyes from it.

    -bint alshamsa
    a.k.a.
    another black mother and rape survivor

  18. I cannot believe she whipped that out.

  19. Oh crap, I must have left the closing tag out. How very tacky. Breastfeeding while blogging is a tricky business sometimes. Sorry!

Leave a Reply

