Gretchen posting here, I’m proud of her and welcome

Having come from the rad fem side to the sex worker rights movement in 2004, I know first hand the pressure that is placed on many radical feminists from within the community to not work with sex worker rights people under any circumstances and the risks of being defined as “pro prostitution” and thus no longer welcome in the radical feminist movement for something as simple as finding common ground. I don’t know if Gretchen is facing any repercussions from the radical feminist community of the nature I did back in 2002, 2003 when I reached out to the sex worker rights activists on common interests and suffered a great deal of backlash and ultimately left radical feminism entirely. My hope is that she does not face any repercussions.

I want to say from a first hand perspective that I appreciate that she came here and posted and found common ground with us. That she spoke of her political feelings on the issue of sex work and they differ from many of ours but she did so respectfully without making anyone wrong, that she found common ground with us in this case and was willing to speak with us and support us in this effort regarding Judge Deni and supporting the survivor.

To my knowledge she is the only radical feminist that openly stood with us in this blog event. I want to say that I am proud of her, appreciative and that I hope she is an example to others. Violence against women is an issue effecting us all. There should not be political divides separating us in fighting sexual violence, rape etc. No one deserves to be raped. Absolutely no one.

Gretchen in my mind is a far better feminist than many who have huge reputations, book deals, PhD’s and speaking tours and they could seriously use to take a lesson from her.

Gretchen, thank you! Your efforts and the potential risks that you took within your own community to support this cause are appreciated and respected.

Solidarity

7 Responses

  1. apparently im so naive. as i read the previous post iv been thinking: what a horrible situation, yet what a great opportunity to unite armies!
    i was sure much more radical feminists would come.
    thats exactly the place where all intrests are same!
    it is a shame.

  2. yeah, Gretchen gets a thumbs up.

  3. yeh, I just got this comment on my blog:

    ” Anonymous said…

    Oh. “Time to fight back” now is it? When someone’s actually had the guts and courage to stand up and say “this was done to me and it’s WRONG” rather than “this was done to me but, seeing as you get off on it, that’s ok then…”

    You believe the patriarchally aligned justice system should be able to differentiate between scenarios when even you can’t and that it’s up to the aggrieved to make a stand in the first place?

    Christ on a bike, you’re such a hypocrite”

    which, is that even English?

  4. anyway: agreed, Gretchen’s been a mensch.

  5. I”m not sure which is more obscure. Anonymous’ identity or his or her point. That one is a coin toss.

  6. Yes, certainly glad Gretchen joined in supporting sex workers in a case of severe injustice.

    XX

  7. What I don’t think some rad-fems recognize is that doing as Gretchen did makes people waaaayyyy more likely to take radical feminism seriously than they otherwise might.

Leave a Reply

