Text of Petition to Support Sex Workers’ Rights

Petition to Support Sex Workers’ Rights
Support Nevada’s State Rights!

When sex work is a part of the underground economy, workers have no labor rights; they suffer violence, stigma, isolation, fear and criminalization.
Support the basic labor rights and human rights of your local sex industry worker!
Sex Workers Outreach Project asks the people of Nevada to:
• Support the right for sex industry workers to be free of violence and exploitation.
• Support the rights of individuals to choose sex work.
• Support sex industry workers’ rights to work and travel just like other workers.
• Promote labor rights for those who freely choose sex as their work.
• Support the rights of consenting adults to make individual choices about their sexuality.
• Stand up and fight against coercion, deceit and violence against women.
• Spend our tax dollars to combat sexual assault, rape, and abuse.

8 Responses

  1. ::standing O from the East Coast:::

  2. Simply and plainly written. Why do the rabid feminists have a problem with these concepts? They do nothing to undermine women’s personal rights — they uphold them instead.

    Thanks Robyn, for summing it up so well.

    XX

  3. I used to think that these particular ‘feminists’ were blinded by their hatred for men. But the more I read their comments here and elsewhere, I’m realizing that it’s actually their hatred fro women that they’re blinded by. I have encountered this behavior up close and personal since some of my undergrad women’s studies classes. The philosophy is: “The last 2,000 years of violence and discrimination against women were caused by those women who continue to ‘collaborate’ with the patriarchy by acknowledging their sexuality.”

    Clearly they love the men who are in power- Bush & Co, the justice dept. giving them grants, etc. THEY are the collaborators posing as feminists. I can’t decide if I want to spend my energy stripping them of their false titles, or if it would be easier to disavow feminism altogether at this point.

  4. Karly,

    After many personal discussions with Jill, I’ve come to the conclusion that these radical feminists are misogynists. Their actions and arguments, if made by a man, would be labeled as such. It’s been a disturbing realization. Their philosophy any more palatable coming from the mouth of a woman.

    I love being female and would never change it for anything. The self-loathing evidenced in these most radical of feminists goes against the whole idea of feminism, which to me means celebrating the feminine.

    Anyway, I’m glad Jill and I aren’t the only ones who see this awful slant in their philosophy (we’re not crazy!).

    XX

  5. Self-loathing is a perfect phrase for it.

    Unfortunately, it’s the type of self-loathing that translates into abuse of others. Not unlike the way that self-loathing parents will beat their children, they love them and just want to teach them what’s best right?

  6. I’m certain that the feminists’ aim is to make sure that every woman retains her dignity.

    Their fundamental error is to assume that any woman who can’t maintain her dignity by choice must be given it whether she wants it or not. This, of course, assumes that women (and men, for that matter) can’t be trusted to make their own decisions.

    We can all agree that the brothel system can rob women of choice by keeping them in servitude for all sorts of reasons (debt, drug addiction, or sometimes actual force). Legalization would mitigate each of those issues, and give women recourse to the law to settle their disputes, and recourse to the law is a fundamental right. Any reasonable opposition to prostitution is philosophical (I’m philosophically opposed myself), not legal.

    For good or ill, it is not for the government to legislate what a woman can do with her body or what a man can do with a willing woman’s body. This is a bright line, and one might even say there are constitutional grounds for allowing such trade.

  7. […] *Source can be found HERE […]

  8. I remember how it felt to first learn about the sex wars.

    Maybe I was too wrapped up in a radical punk rock community throughout my teen years—the natural hand-to-mouth existence. And choosing or needing to make cash by working in the sex trade just seemed natural. Who should care? Whose business is it what I do with my body?!?!?

    I once defined myself as feminist, and radical. Feminist as in “my body’s my business”. Radical as in “revolution and . . . changing the whole structure”. Taking on a radical feminist identity was something I did very early, unaware of what that identity demanded.

    Then, I got to college, and I realized that “Radical Feminists” weren’t my friends. They weren’t my sisters. They were against me. It was a heartbreaking realization.

    I am Radical. I am a Feminist. I am also a Whore.

    Why is that so hard for my former sisters to acknowledge and respect?

Leave a Reply

