Carol Queen on Dealing with Blog Cowards

Carol Queen gives a stirring rundown of dealing with anti-prostitution blog commenters who conveniently forget to leave a proper email address when telling sex workers they know nothing about sex work:

Oh please, “ohplease.” I’d hoped to have a useful little dialogue with you. But, so like the many web-masked commentators who fuel their bad manners with anonymity, not to mention strew apostrophes all over like cat hair on a black sweater, you worked it out so I can’t even communicate back.

That’s so cheesy.

Well, tell you what. I dare you to reply to my question above and give us the skinny on your experience with the sex industry. It may be that you know whereof you speak (though that would be, in my experience, fairly unusual, I’m very willing to entertain the possibility).

Speaking of entertaining, the reason that I feel empowered to speak up about this is that I was a ***gasp!*** prostitute. For about ten years. I worked with madams (not pimps, “ohplease,” those are the ones with the hats). And if YOU worked as one too and had a different experience than I did, I would be thrilled to open the pages of my blog for a little discussion. But not with the “Can’t touch this” communication ethos of somebody whose communication style verges on flamery.

So since you won’t communicate with me, guess I’ll just have to communicate with you.

3 Responses

  1. Well said. I like her.

  2. The Internet is a perfect refuge for mediocre cowards to deploy their little gimmicks… It’s sad they would have enough time on their hands for that; sad also that they could feel a sense of personal empowerment, if not sometimes even vindication, under the cover of anonymity… Only weak personalities, ones carrying a deep defect, can buzz so high on clouds of delusion.

    I always sign my name at the end of postings, even responses to posting such as this one. If I don’t have the guts to stand behind my own words, then something is really wrong with them… Or my motivations have got to be so twisted it is better, for my own sake, I postpone putting some thoughts out until I’m sure they truly reflect my opinions.

    mirha-soleil
    xxxx

  3. Hey

    I was surfing the web and i saw this site, pretty cool.
    Currently im running and adult site:Wellness
    k, just want to say hi🙂
    Can i link you from my site? im looking for quality content like yours. If no let me know if i can add u in exchange for a montly fee or something.

Leave a Reply

