Scare Tactics

The media is doing a good job of scaring us to death.

Directly following 2o/2o’s interview with the DC Madam the Women’s channel aired 48 Hours/Rescued from the Shadows. It was a very powerful show about sex slavery and covered the lives of 4 women who had actually had the experience of being trafficked.I am glad that these women are given media time to tell their story. I am glad that sex trafficking and sexual slavery is an issue that is important to Americans. Forced labor is wrong and these stories need to be told.

But so does my story.I have been a sex worker/prostitute for 20 years. It was a conscious choice that I made. I didn’t spend the last 20 years solely doing prostitution. I went in and out of many different professions but my favorite and most lucrative was sex work. I like the fact that I get to set my own hours. I can say no if I don’t want to work or I can work as long and hard as I want too. I get to meet many different and interesting people and I love to travel. The best part about it is the money because we all know that there is never enough of that.

I wish that my chosen profession wasn’t illegal because I would be proud to talk about the things that I have done and the people I have met. But, for now, I have alot of secrets. I wish that I wouldn’t have to be ashamed because I would love to tell my regular Doctor that I am a prostitute. But I know by the way she talks to me and acts that she would not approve.

I wish that I didn’t face discrimination because then my daughter would be glad to tell everyone that her mother fights for the rights of sex workers and is a prostitute. Unfortunately for everyone, I remain in the darkness, buried in the quagmire of prohibition and you cannot or will not recognize me. It is your loss, because without me and my knowledge you remain ignorant and scared.

Posted by: robynfew

4 Responses

  1. Well stated robynfew. There are so many stories that remain untold — the media focuses on “saving” the “lost souls” and ignores the folks that just live ordinary lives. That’s just not exciting news, now is it? Too bad. They are missing out on knowing extraordinary people with excellent stories and interesting lives.

  2. Right on, Robyn.

  3. Do you want your daughter to follow in your steps and become a prostitute? Honestly?

  4. I want my daughter to be whatever she wants to be. I support her choices, I don’t always agree with them but I support her and I love her. If she was a prostitute I want her to be safe and have the legal rights that all workers have.

Leave a Reply

